Monday, May 26, 2008

Savvy

Savvy by Ingrid Law
For generations, the Beaumont family has harbored a magical secret. They each possess a "savvy"-a special supernatural power that strikes when they turn thirteen.
Grandpa Bomba moves mountains, her older brothers create hurricanes and spark electricity . . . and now it's the eve of Mibs's big day. As if waiting weren't hard enough, the family gets scary news two days before Mibs's birthday: Poppa has been in a terrible accident. Mibs develops the singular mission to get to the hospital and prove that her new power can save her dad. So she sneaks onto a salesman's bus . . . only to find the bus heading in the opposite direction. Suddenly Mibs finds herself on an unforgettable odyssey that will force her to make sense of growing up-and of other people, who might also have a few secrets hidden just beneath the skin.

5 comments:

Elizabeth Bird, New York Public Library/Kirkus said...

...With its delightful premise and lively adventure, this book will please a wide variety of audiences, not just fantasy fans. Definitely an author to watch.

LittleWillow said...

Ingrid Law infuses her sweet family-oriented story with mischief, creating a special effect. Whether or not they have special powers, each character is easily distinguishable from the others, including the grown-ups. It's almost as if the kids from the Maggie Valley books by Kerry Madden (Gentle's Holler, etc) were given the powers of the X-Men. The fact that the Beaumonts gain their powers at the age of thirteen is a perfect nod to their coming-of-age, and this book is a treat for all ages.

Carrot in the stew said...

Savvy

I thought this book was more about Mibb trying to save her dad after his accident than a family with special abilities. I liked the idea of the Savvy but I don't think it was enough of the story. Maybe in future books the author will go deeper into each family members abilities.
I give it 2 1/2**

librarycat said...

One of my favorites so far! I was attracted at first by the cover art, which just screams "READ ME". I think most children can relate to what Mibs is going through--struggling to fit in at school, the awkwardness of becoming a teenager, and wanting so much to help a loved one who is sick or in the hospital. However.......... there are some things that make Mibs and her family a little different from the rest of us. I think kids in the "anokaberry age group" would really enjoy this one--could be a contender! I'll give it five stars *****.

Stacy Dillon said...

...I have to say, that this little book may be my favourite of the year thus far. Countrified charm, magical realism, a dash of romance, and a family that left me envious, all make for an utterly charming read. Ingrid Law's Savvy is a sweet book that will leave readers wanting more. Fans of Horvath and Wiles take note!